Making A Change

Our world today is constantly changing. From electronics to clothing style everything changes from a week to week basis. Change is defined as: ¬†“to become different, or make something or somebody different” and our world is definitely changing rapidly. In my opinion there is a lot of things in the world today that need to be changed but also many things that I think should remain the same. Things like the game of baseball and our declaration of independence should never change and even the gun laws, death penalty should stay the same. One thing that really strikes me as something that should be changed is our school spirit.

I can remember back when my sister was in high school how much spirit the school had.¬†Literally¬†EVERYBODY came to the games and sat in the student sections and¬†cheered their butts off because they wanted to win so bad.¬†I can remember even though we were a 1A¬†school, which is a very small school, they always had as big a student section as any of the surrounding schools. It seemed to give the sports teams an edge, an extra boost of confidence to have their classmates cheering them on. They hated Taylor County and wanted the bragging rights so bad, you were waiting for a fight to break out any minute. On game days the atmosphere in the school was awesome no matter who the opponent was. One thing bonded the whole school,¬† “Eagle Pride”.

Over the last couple of years somethings changed, it’s not¬†there¬†anymore. I play football, basketball and baseball for my school and I hate to lose, especially to those dirty birds. When I look up at the student section during a game and see no one standing up or showing any emotion at all, it kills me. When im walking down the halls and it feels like another ordinary¬†day it makes my teammates and my confidence fall off a cliff. How are we supposed to believe in ourselves¬†if our own classmates and our “friends” don’t¬†have our backs and believe in us? We fight hard every day in practice for the name on our chests, the least we can ask for is a little support. Recently we faced our crosstown rival and it is probably the biggest game of the season. We conquered them earlier in the season so we had some confidence flowing. For some reason, once school arrived on “game day” our school had ZERO confidence in us. One of our classmates even mentioned, “y’all¬†are gonna get smashed they just had a bad game last time”. That made me madder then ever. The least you could tell me is go give¬†it your best shot or good luck or something, but no. Even with the lack of confidence i¬†felt throughout the day from my classmates, my teammates and I were still going to battle our hardest for the people who¬†do come and support us. Gametime¬†comes and the gym is packed, but our student section is nowhere to¬†be found. I even saw one of our classmates in the Taylor county student section cheering them on! We went out and fought but our effort wasnt enough as we lost by 10. Their student section was loud and proud and gave them confidence, but it seemed like every time something went wrong and they hit a big shot we had no one to pick us up but ourselves. Hopefully something changes and we restore the “Eagle Pride”

By zdurham14

One comment on “Making A Change

Leave a Reply

